Published AI referral rates run from 5% to 20% of the referred work, and the terms behind the rate change what you take home more than the headline number. Spej pays 4% to 12% on the initial engagement depending on its size, plus 3% on follow-on work signed within 12 months, on consulting fees Spej actually collects.

By Aby Abraham, Director, AI Adoption and Strategic Partnerships, Spej.

I started in this work as a solo consultant, so I know what it's like when a client asks for something you don't deliver. You want to send them somewhere good, get paid fairly for the introduction, and still be the person they call next time. This page is the comparison I'd want in that spot: what firms publish, what the fine print means, and how to check the firm before you put your name behind it.

Published AI referral rates compared

FirmRatePaid onCapWindow and follow-onWhen paidExclusions
Spej12%, 10%, 7% or 4% by initial engagement sizeFirst-year consulting fees Spej collects from an eligible new clientNot stated3% on additional SOWs signed within 12 months of the initial SOWAs Spej is paid, proportionally within 10 daysProducts, software, subscriptions, licenses, pass-through costs, expenses, third-party fees, taxes
Pyper AI20%Project work: the initial build and new projects with the same clientNot stated12 months from the introductionOnce Pyper is paidMaintenance, support, retainers, day-rate work
AROG AI10% to 15%Each closed dealNo capNot statedWithin 30 daysNot stated
OVAMIND10%First paid engagement$500 per referral ($50 minimum)First paid project onlyWithin 30 days of engagement completionNot stated
theagency475%Referred projectsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
SoxoaNot published; a percentage of the first engagement, agreed in writing before the introductionFirst engagementNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

Terms as published on each firm's partner page on November 3, 2026. "Not stated" means the page doesn't say. Pyper AI is UK-based, and AROG AI focuses on EU AI Act compliance work and publishes an average deal size of €5,000 to €15,000.

How Spej's tiers work

Initial engagement valueCommission
$10,000 to $50,00012%
$50,001 to $150,00010%
$150,001 to $250,0007%
Portion above $250,0004% on collected fees attributable to that portion

The total value of the initial engagement sets the tier. These work differently from tax brackets, so a $100,000 project earns 10% on the whole $100,000 once it's collected, which is $10,000. For engagements below $10,000, or the complete calculation above $250,000, the terms are confirmed with Spej's partnerships team. Rates are subject to change and the signed agreement controls. You can model your own numbers with the estimator on /partners.

The terms that decide what you earn

When you compare programs, read these before the rate:

  • The base. Is it paid on signed contract value or on fees the firm actually collects? Collected fees are more common and safer for the firm, so expect commission to arrive as the client pays.
  • Caps. A 10% rate capped at $500 pays the same on a $6,000 project as on a $60,000 one.
  • The window and follow-on work. AI work rarely ends with one project. A good client usually comes back for a second workflow or ongoing support, so the follow-on terms often matter more than the first-project rate.
  • What's excluded. Software, licenses and retainers are commonly carved out. Know which revenue counts.
  • Registration. At Spej, prospects have to be registered in writing before substantive contact and confirmed by Spej, and only new clients qualify. Look for the equivalent rule in every program so there's no argument later about who brought the client.
  • Refunds. If the client gets a refund or credit, expect the matching commission to reverse.
  • Who leads the client afterward. Make sure the agreement says it plainly.

Refer, co-deliver or white label

Referral is the lightest of three options. On our October 30 live stream I described how we work with partners: "whether you want to do it referral based, as a partner where you want to be involved on certain aspects based on your strengths," or white label, where "we're happy to put your brand at the forefront."

ReferralCustom partnershipWhite label
Your roleIntroduce an eligible clientOwn the parts that fit your strengthsLead the offer under your own brand
Client relationshipYou remain their advisor; Spej leads the AI engagementAgreed together for each conversationYou own and manage it
How you earnCommission on eligible consulting revenueCustom terms based on scope and responsibilitiesAgreed delivery pricing and commercial terms

White label is especially useful for larger MSPs expanding their services. MSPs weighing the options can start with how MSPs can add AI services, managed AI platform or white-label partner, and how much AI consulting costs.

Before you refer anyone, vet the firm

A referral fee doesn't help you if the project fails and the client blames you. Check delivery first and the rate second. The best test I know is to ask about the ugly work, the data cleanup and permissions that have to happen before AI touches a client's files. We wrote more about this on the Spej Substack in The best way to vet an AI partner is to ask about the ugly work. Questions worth asking:

  1. What do you need to know about the client's data before you connect anything?
  2. Once AI is reading their files, how will you decide who can see what?
  3. What would make you tell the client to slow down?
  4. Can I see case studies with a starting number and a result?
  5. Who owns the code and documentation at the end?

For reference, here's what Spej's clients receive: a national mechanical contractor got a readiness assessment that identified six high-ROI automation opportunities plus a working prototype, a 45-person marketing agency got a roadmap that identified 137 hours a month in reporting savings, and a regional P&C insurer had first working value within 60 days (case studies). See also a commercial plumbing and drainage manufacturer and a regional P&C insurer's claims review. On Design & Build work, the client owns the code and documentation.

How to bring it up with a client

You don't need to be the AI expert to start. Sagar put it well on the same live stream: "you don't have to be fully prepared with all the answers. You just gotta have the conversation." A good first step is often a free readiness call, which can end with a recommendation to hold off. Your client still gets an honest answer from someone you sent them to, which protects your reputation.

Where referral programs fall short

  • Some clients aren't ready. The right referral might be to a readiness call, and that won't pay a commission right away.
  • High headline rates can come with low caps or a first-project-only rule.
  • Small projects may sit outside the standard table. At Spej, engagements under $10,000 need terms confirmed first, so ask before you introduce a roadmap-only client.
  • Regulated professions have their own rules. For CPAs, the AICPA's Commissions and Referral Fees Rule (1.520.001) requires disclosing a referral fee to the client and restricts commissions when your firm performs audits, reviews and certain other attest work for that client. Check your own rules and disclose the fee.

If you have clients asking about AI, talk with our partner team. Joining is free. Meet the team.

FAQ

What is a typical referral fee for AI consulting work?

Published AI referral rates we found run from 5% to 20% of the referred work. theagency47 pays 5%, OVAMIND 10% capped at $500, AROG AI 10% to 15%, Pyper AI 20% on project work within 12 months, and Spej 4% to 12% by engagement size plus 3% on follow-on work. The base, caps and window matter as much as the rate.

How much does Spej pay for referrals?

Spej's standard referral agreement pays on first-year consulting fees it actually collects from an eligible new client: 12% for initial engagements of $10,000 to $50,000, 10% for $50,001 to $150,000, 7% for $150,001 to $250,000, and 4% on collected fees attributable to the portion above $250,000. Your signed agreement controls.

Is the referral fee paid on follow-on work?

At Spej, yes: 3% of collected fees under additional statements of work the same client signs within 12 months of the initial statement of work. Other programs differ. Pyper AI includes new projects within 12 months, and OVAMIND pays on the first paid project only.

When are AI referral commissions paid?

It varies. Spej's commission is earned as Spej receives client payments and paid proportionally within 10 days, with refunds and credits reversing the matching commission. OVAMIND and AROG AI publish payment within 30 days, and Pyper AI pays once it's paid.

Does it cost anything to join Spej's partner program?

No. Joining is free. Client delivery, Plooms licensing, and access to the digital marketing system or custom campaign setup are priced separately and agreed before any paid work begins.

Do I need to be an AI consultant to refer clients?

No. Spej's program is open to established consultants and firms in accounting, marketing, HR, IT and other adjacent services. What matters is a trusted client relationship and a real client need for AI implementation.

Are software licenses included in referral commissions?

Usually not. Spej's standard referral agreement covers consulting services only, and products, software, subscriptions and licenses are excluded. Plooms licensing and white-label terms are agreed separately. Pyper AI excludes maintenance, support and retainers.

Can accountants take referral fees for AI work?

Check your professional rules first. The AICPA Code of Professional Conduct's Commissions and Referral Fees Rule (1.520.001) requires members who accept a referral fee for recommending a CPA's services to disclose it to the client, and restricts commissions when the firm performs attest work for that client. Other professions have their own rules.